Texas currently ranks number 27 on the list of the average cost of insurance throughout the country, which means if you recently moved to Texas, you may be enjoying much cheaper insurance premiums or battling with higher premiums. No matter what you are paying for your auto insurance policy in Texas, it is important to make sure that you meet the minimum requirements of the state for insurance.
As a Texas driver, you are required to carry at least $30,000 in coverage for bodily injury to one person, and $60,000 for bodily injury to two or more people, as well as $25,000 in property damage coverage. If you are found driving without insurance in the state, you can face a penalty of up to $350 for a first offense, and up to a $1,000 fine with a 2-year suspension of your license for any repeated offenses.
Even with strict laws of how much insurance you need to drive on Texas roads, 20 percent of drivers in the state do not have insurance. To help combat this issue, the Texas Legislature created the motor vehicle insurance certification system, also known as TexasSure. TexasSure is used to match the vehicle identification number, or VIN, of your car to a database that includes all of the insurance policies that are open in the state. If you are ever involved in an accident or when you register your car, you are required to show your insurance ID card.
For all of your auto insurance needs, contact the insurance professionals at Gant Insurance Agency in McKinney, Texas. As an independent insurance agency, we will work with you to ensure that you have the right amount of coverage for your needs, all at the right price for your budget.