Getting the right auto insurance in McKinney, TX, doesn’t have to be complicated. It’s a matter of knowing your relevant options and deciding which plan suits your needs the best. Here’s a look at what happens to Texas motorists caught driving without auto insurance.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured
When driving in Texas, you are required by law to carry proof of auto liability insurance. About 20% of vehicles in the state (which equates to about 4 million) lack insurance. Even though the penalty for driving without a license in the state is severe, the problem persists. As a response, the state created and funded a program called TexasSure in 2008.
Texas Law enforcement agencies have access to auto insurance policy status provided to them by insurance companies about their customers through TexasSure. If you fail to keep your proof of insurance ID card in your vehicle, an officer can confirm your insurance through the TexasSure system. However, you can be fined up to $1,750 for failing to carry your ID card or not updating your policy information with TexasSure.
Penalties for 1st Offense
For the first offense of not paying auto insurance in McKinney, TX, you will face a fine between $175 and $350. Additionally, you’ll need to pay an annual surcharge of $250 for three straight years. So the overall cost of the first offense will range from $925 to $1,100. If the officer writes a ticket for driving without insurance, your monthly premium will increase, and you’ll have to file an SR22 form.
Penalties for 2nd Offense
After the second and subsequent offenses, you will be fined between $350 and $1,000 along with the three-year surcharge of $250 each year. It will certainly raise your premium as well. The court can also decide to impound your vehicle for up to 180 days, which can add up to $2,700 in fees.
When you are unable to pay the fines for driving without insurance, you may be eligible for the Indigency Program, which is available for low-income earners. If your income is below the poverty level, your annual surcharge penalty might be reduced to $25.
Penalties for Being Uninsured
If you cause an accident and fail to carry insurance, things will get worse. You will face fines, vehicle impoundment, and license suspension. The penalties can add over $4,000, a year in jail, and a two-year license suspension. Furthermore, you’ll be held completely liable for damages. You may plead not guilty and appeal the fine, but then you’ll face a trial that comes with more court costs.
If you have any questions about your auto insurance coverage, the experts at Gant Insurance Agency in McKinney, Texas, are here to assist you. We can help you find the right coverage for your situation.